Assassins Creed - Valhalla

When DDB Paris and production company Eddy set about to produce a TVC for Ubisoft’s upcoming game “Asassain’s Creed Valhalla”, they contacted Goodbye Kansas Studios. DDB wanted something that stood out, a fresh take on launching game titles and their hero characters. The idea was to tell the story about Eivor and his crew in an engaging and in a sense irreverent manner. A decision was made to produce a trailer in a continuous shot, having the performance of Eivor breaking the 4th wall. This would require the utmost attention to detail and set the highest demands on the quality of the character and the TVC; a challenge which GBK gladly accepted.

Production started just before covid-19 lockdown in the spring of 2020, but challenges are meant to be overcome and the coming months we quickly found effective and creative ways to work together even if artists were forced to work from home and MoCap shoots had to be made with skeleton crew and plenty of video calls. On October29th, the trailer met the audiences with great reviews.


Role: Lead Character Artist

Art Contribution: Created Big Ugly Viking holding the merchant.

For the head no scans were used on this one so I got the opportunity to both concept and sculpt everything from ground up.

Head groom and shoulder pelt were created in Houdini along with the Lookdev/Skin Shading.

Rest of the clothes were upressed from game asset.

I also created all groom/braids on main Hero Eivor based on client guide curves.



Director: Emnet Mulugeta

VFX Supervisor: Henrik Eklundh

CG Supervisor: Alexis Andersson

Art Director: Gustaf Holmsten, Teo Mathlein

Animation Director: Jonathon Tyler, Jonas Ekman

Creative Director: Gustaf Holmsten

Executive Producer: Jan Cafourek

Producer: Rebeca Cervantes

Production Coordinator: Jona Wedholm, Axel Gärkman

Production Assistant: Axel Gärkman

Lead Character and Character Supervisor: Jonas Skoog

Character Modeling: Axel Flovin, Andreas Leijon, Marlon Nuñez, Erika Johansson, Evelina Kornebrant, Sandra Isaksson, Andre Valck

Head of Facial Modeling: Jonas Törnqvist

Facial Modelers: Sandra Isaksson, Mert Erguden, Anneli Larsson, Hedda Peterson, Jonas Törnqvist

Character Look Development: Axel Flovin, Andreas Leijon, Marlon Nuñez, Erika Johansson, Evelina Kornebrant

Lead Environment Artist: Gustav Alexanderson

Environment Modeling: Joakim Engholm, Andreas Leijon, Peter Skager, Andre Valck, Kristoffer Andersson, Peter Skager

Environment Look Development Artists: Kristoffer Andersson, Joakim Engholm, Peter Skager

Asset modeling / lookdev Lead: Frans Åkerman

Asset modeling / lookdev Artists: Filip Orrby, Peter Skager, Joakim Engholm, Kristoffer Andersson

Lighting lead Alexis Andersson

Lighting artists: Chris Debski, Erika Johansson

Lead Rigging: Gabija Smalinskaite

Rigging TD: Gabija Smalinskaite, Stephanie Holder

Lead Character FX: David Vincze, Ludvig Eliasson

Character FX: Viktor Lanner, Navjin Khosravi

Head of Facial Rigging: Nils Lerin

Facial Rigger: Mattias Nyberg, Eric Haraldsson

Layout Lead: Oliver Askew

Layout Artists: Emiliano Nanfaro, Daniel Ljungmark

Lead Body Animator: Benjamin Brenneur, Frida Nilsson

Animators: Jonathan Skifs, Michael Hall Mauritzen, Mikael Olsson, Jonas Forsman

Body Animators: Dusan Vlatkovic, Flynn Dahlberg, Marko Marinkovic

Head of Facial Animation: Goran Milic

Facial Animators: Mathew Curran, Antonija Milic

Data Processing: David Grice

HMC Projection: Adrina Wennström

FX Artists: Max Öberg, Nikola Ilic, Victor Wagner

MattePainter and Concept Artist: Teo Mathlein, Gustaf Holmsten, Mikael Widegren, Mikael Eriksson, Carl Forsell, Christopher Brändström

Storyboard artist: Ivan Gomez Montero

Lead Compositing: Sven Ahlström, Peter Blomstrand

Compositing Artist: Daniel Norlund, Lars Wallund, Calle Granström

Motion Graphics: Tom Waldton, Gustaf Holmsten

VFX Editor: Henrik Klein, Caio Simbula, Jimmy Zhu

Head of Pipeline: Erik Johansson

Pipeline: Dan Englesson, Dane Bettis, Joakim Johansson, Simon Rainersson, Stephen Hada, Linus Fredriksson

System Administrators: Tomas Ericsson, Armin Cero, Gabi Gharib, Emil Ferdinandsson, Hampus Robertsson

Grading: Sander van Wijk

Sound Designer: Robert Eklund, Redpipe

Goodbye Kansas Studios Capture Division:

Executive producer: Anton Söderhäll

Producer: Rebeca Cervantes

First Assistant Director: Isa Olai

Production assistant: Franziska Ewigleben, Madeline Waring

Director of Photography: Simon Olsson

Head of Motion Capture: Samuel Tyskling

Motion Capture Supervisor: Samuel Tyskling

Motion Capture Operator: Oskar Olsson, Ed Reeler

Database Management: Oskar Olsson, Ed Reeler

Props & Staging: Jonathan Forefält, David Sagesen

Audio Supervisor: Oskar Gyllenhammar

Facial Capture Supervisor: Sigtor Kildal

Facial Capture Operator: Daniel Ljungmark

Make-Up Artist: Sanna Johannesson


Performance Capture: Peter Eggers, Anastasios Soulis

Voice Actor: Magnus Brunn

Stunts: Nicklas Hansson, Johan Lindqvist, Karin Floengård Jonsson